--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Stravinsky: The Soldier's Tale - Roman Simovic, LSO Chamber Ensemble – LSO Live

Stravinsky: The Soldier's Tale [download]

  • Release date: 1 June 2018
    LSO5074-D | 822231507468

    24 bit 96 kHz FLAC | 320 kbps MP3

    Producer: James Mallinson
    Engineering: Classic Sound Ltd
    Recorded live in DSD 128FS at LSO St Luke’s, London, 31 October 2015

  • ****½ ‘All the performers are engaged in telling a gripping Tale in this thoroughly recommended release.’
    Fine Fish Music

    ‘These reputable musicians master this work with a playful nobility.’

    ‘This new performance, under the direction of Roman Simovic, can be described as idiomatic; not least thanks to Malcolm Sinclair’s outstanding contributions.’
    Opus Klassiek


Roman Simovic 
LSO Chamber Ensemble

A septet of LSO musicians relive the Russian folk tale of a soldier who trades his fiddle for unparalleled gain in Stravinsky’s The Soldier’s Tale. A theatrical work ‘to be read, played and danced,’ British stage & television actor Malcolm Sinclair narrates, leading listeners through the soldier’s regretful decision.

Performed in 2015 as part of the Barbican’s inaugural Sound Unbound festival, The Soldier’s Tale was recorded in the Jerwood Hall of LSO St. Luke’s, a vibrant venue which is also home to the Orchestra’s community and music education programme. Directed by violinist Roman Simovic, the ensemble for this project featured veteran principal players from across the LSO, including bassoonist Rachel Gough, clarinetist Andrew Marriner, percussionist Neil Percy and trumpet player Philip Cobb.

Composer   Igor Stravinsky
Director   Roman Simovic
Narrator   Malcolm Sinclair
Performers   LSO Chamber Ensemble

Track list

The Soldier's Tale, Part I:

  1. Introduction. The Soldier's March
  2. Music for Scene 1. Airs by a Stream
  3. The Soldier's March (Reprise)
  4. Music for Scene 2. Pastorale
  5. Airs by a Stream (Reprise) – Little Airs by a Stream

The Soldier's Tale, Part II:

  1. The Soldier's March (Reprise)
  2. The Royal March
  3. The Little Concert
  4. Three Dances - I. Tango
  5. Three Dances - II. Waltz
  6. Three Dances - III. Ragtime
  7. The Devil's Dance
  8. Little Choral
  9. The Devil’s Song
  10. Great Chorale
  11. Triumphal March of the Devil 


        Also available on