--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Sibelius: Symphonies Nos 1–7, Kullervo [digital download] – LSO Live

Sibelius: Symphonies Nos 1–7, Kullervo [download]

  • Catalogue Number LSO0191
    UPC 822231119128


    HD FLAC 24 bit 96 kHz [stereo]
    MP3 320 kbps [stereo]

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd
    sound engineers (Symphonies Nos 1-5, 7, Kullervo)
    Tony Faulkner sound engineer (Symphony No 6)

    Recorded between September 2002 and July 2008, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • 'This might turn out to be the finest Sibelius cycle on disc ... superbly handled by these fine players under a master Sibelian.'
    The Observer

    'There is so much about these performances that is ear-opening - or just plain magnificent.'
    BBC Music Magazine

    'Stunning ... Flawless committed playing of the LSO, but what's really remarkable is the sense of space that Davis brings to the music - you can hear every note in the orchestral texture.'
    Classic FM Magazine


Sold Out

Sir Colin Davis
London Symphony Orchestra

Sibelius was one of the 20th century's greatest and most innovative symphonists, reworking the traditional symphonic structure as radically as Beethoven did in his day. Though his early works show Russian and Italian influences (as a product of his country's history and his travelling, respectively), his music gradually developed its own identity, characterised by beauty, mystery, colour and light, together with his strong love for his native Finnish homeland.

Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   London Symphony Chorus,
London Symphony Orchestra
Soloists   Peter Mattei, Monica Groop

Track list
Vol 1
1. Symphony No 1: I. Andante, Ma Non Troppo
2. Symphony No 1: II. Andante, Ma Non Troppo Lento
3. Symphony No 1: III. Scherzo, Allegro
4. Symphony No 1: IV. Finale, Quasi una Fantasia, Andante
5. Symphony No 4: I. Tempo Molto Moderato, Quasi Adagio
6. Symphony No 4: II. Allegro Molto Vivace
7. Symphony No 4: III. Tempo Largo
8. Symphony No 4: IV. Allegro

Vol 2
1. Symphony No 2: I. Allegretto
2. Symphony No 2: II. Tempo Andante, Ma Rubato
3. Symphony No 2: III. Vivacissimo
4. Symphony No 2: IV. Finale, Allegro Moderato
5. Symphony No 3: I. Allero Moderato
6. Symphony No 3: II. Andantino Con Moto, Quasi Allegretto
7. Symphony No 3: III. Moderato Allegro, Ma Non Tanto

Vol 3
1. Symphony No 5: I. Tempo Molto Moderato, Allegro Moderato
2. Symphony No 5: II. Andante Mosso, Quasi Allegretto
3. Symphony No 5: III. Allegro Molto
4. Symphony No 6: I. Allegro Molto Moderato
5. Symphony No 6: II. Allegro Moderato
6. Symphony No 6: III. Poco Vivace
7. Symphony No 6: IV. Allegro Molto
8. Symphony No 7: Adagio, Vivacissimo, Allegro Moderato, Vivace, Presto, Adagio

Vol 4
1. Kullervo: I. Introduction
2. Kullervo: II. Kullervo's Youth
3. Kullervo: III. Kullervo and His Sister
4. Kullervo: IV. Kullervo Goes to Battle
5. Kullervo: V. Kullervo's Death

Also available on