--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Fauré: Requiem [Digital Download] – LSO Live

Fauré: Requiem / Bach: Partita for Violin No 2 [download]

  • Catalogue Number LSO0728
    UPC 822231172826

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded at the Church of St Giles Cripplegate, May 2012

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • Classic FM’s Albums of the Year 2012
    ‘Choral music doesn't get more magnificent than this. Tenebrae sound dynamic, tight and ooze atmosphere in their performance here, but it's the magical way the soloists and the LSO glide in and out of the sound that really impresses - and that's down to Nigel Short's direction.’

    Gramophone Magazine’s Choice
    ‘I have no hesitation in labelling this the very best Fauré Requiem on disc.’

    BBC Radio 3 Record Review’s Building a Library Top Recommendation
    ‘An ideal balance between transcendental calm and galvanising passion… it doesn’t lack sonic splendour… the choral singing is matchless.’

    ‘Choir and soloist, LSO Leader Gordan Nikolitch, come together in the great Chaconne, to wrenching and compelling effect.’
    The Observer

    'This is without doubt one of the finest sounding, and fascinating releases, that I have heard from LSO Live.'
    Classical CD Choice

    'This performance, recorded live before an extremely well-behaved audience, is excellent. The choral singing from Tenebrae is exceptionally clear and pure in tone, but not at all bloodless as can be the case with choirs aiming for just these qualities in this particular work.'
    International Record Review


Nigel Short, London Symphony Orchestra Chamber Ensemble

During the 2011 City of London Festival, Tenebrae joined a chamber ensemble from the LSO at St Paul’s Cathedral for a performance of Fauré’s Requiem. The Requiem was preceded by a selection of Bach’s Chorales interspersed with his Partita in D minor, performed by Gordan Nikolitch, leader of the London Symphony Orchestra.

Fauré’s Requiem favours serenity, joy and liberation over the dread and terror employed by most composers in settings of the Mass of the Dead. By adopting a more comforting approach, he crafted music of astonishing beauty, in particular the Pie Jesu. Bach’s Partita for Violin No 2, with chorales interspersed, culminates in a reconstruction of the Ciaconna, highlighting the hidden chorale themes within this fascinating work.

Composers   Fauré, JS Bach
Conductor   Nigel Short
Performers   London Symphony Orchestra Chamber Ensemble, Tenebrae
Soloists   Gordan Nikolitch, Grace Davidson, William Gaunt

Track list
1. Ach Herr, lass dein lieb Engelein
2. Partita No 2 in D Minor: Allemanda
3. Partita No 2 in D Minor: Corrente
4. Christ lag in Todesbanden
5. Partita No 2 in D Minor: Sarabanda
6. Den Tod niemand zwingen kunnt
7. Partita No 2 in D Minor: Giga
8. Wenn ich einmal soll scheiden
9. Ciaconna with choral interpolations
10. Requiem in D Minor: Introït et Kyrie
11. Requiem in D Minor: Offertoire
12. Requiem in D Minor: Sanctus
13. Requiem in D Minor: Pie Jesu
14. Requiem in D Minor: Agnus Dei
15. Requiem in D Minor: Libera me
16. Requiem in D Minor: In Paradisum

Also available on