--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Berlioz: The Damnation of Faust (Rattle, LSO) – LSO Live

Berlioz: The Damnation of Faust

  • Release date: 8 March 2019
    LSO0809 | 822231180920

    2 x Hybrid SACD | Jewel case
    SACD incl.stereo | multi-channel 5.1

    Producer: Andrew Cornall
    Engineering: Neil Hutchinson (balance engineer); Jonathan Stokes (recording engineer)
    Recorded live in DSD 64FS at Barbican Hall, London 17 & 19 September 2017

  • Record of the week
    BBC Radio 3

    'Bryan Hymel’s Faust is the most convincing soloist. But it’s the vivid detail Rattle conjures up, the brilliant playing and the force and intensity of the choral singing that give greatest satisfaction.'
    The Sunday Times

    ‘As the Berlioz 150th anniversary year unfolds there will undoubtedly be many more recordings of his music. I hope they’ll be as exciting as this thrilling performance of La damnation de Faust.’
    MusicWeb International

    ‘The tones are dazzlingly dreamy.’

    ‘If a single achievement symbolises the British ‘lead’ in performing Berlioz over the composer’s homeland, it could well be the LSO’s legacy with this score…Definitely recommended.’


Sir Simon Rattle
London Symphony Orchestra 

Sir Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra mark 150 years since the death of Hector Berlioz with his tempestuous oratorio, La damnation de Faust.

La damnation de Faust is a work born of the composer’s obsession with Goethe’s legendary tale. Once a righteous scholar, Faust allows himself to be corrupted by the devil, and drags the innocent around him into desperation and death. It’s a fable that defies definition – both a tragedy and dark comedy, with a central character both wise and despicable, and a play and epic poem in one.

Composer   Berlioz
Conductor   Sir Simon Rattle

London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Orchestra


Bryan Hymel, Christopher Purves, Gábor Bretz, Karen Cargill

Track list

Disc 1
1. Pt. I, Scène I - "Le vieil hiver"
2. Pt. I, Scène II/III - Ronde de paysans. "Les bergers laissent ... Mais d'un éclat guerrier"
3. Pt. I, Scène III - Marche hongroise (Hungarian March)
4. Pt. II, Scène IV - "Sans regrets j'ai quitté les riantes campagnes"
5. Pt. II, Scène IV - Chant de la Fête de Pâques. "Christ vient de ressusciter!"
6. Pt. II, Scène IV - "Hélas! doux chants du ciel"
7. Pt. II, Scène V - "Ô pure émotion!"
8. Pt. II, Scène VI - "A boire encor!"
9. Pt. II, Scène VI - Chanson de Brander. "Certain rat, dans une cuisine"
10. Pt. II, Scène VI - Fugue. "Amen"
11. Pt. II, Scène VI - "Vrai dieu! messieurs"
12. Pt. II, Scène VI - Chanson de Méphistophélès. "Une puce gentille"
13. Pt. II, Scène VI - "Assez! fuyons ces lieux"
14. Pt. II, Scène VII - Air de Méphistophélès. "Voici des roses"
15. Pt. II, Scène VII - Choeur de gnomes et de sylphes. Songe de Faust. "Dors! heureux Faust"
16. Pt. II, Scène VII - Ballet des sylphes
17. Pt. II, Scène VII - "Margarita!"
18. Pt. II, Scène VIII - Final. "Villes entourées" - Chanson d'étudiants. " Jam nox stellata velamina pandit"
Disc 2
1. Pt. III, Scène IX - Prélude
2. Pt. III, Scène IX - Air de Faust. "Merci, doux crépuscule!"
3. Pt. III, Scène X - "Je l'entends!"
4. Pt. III, Scène XI - "Que l'air est étouffant!"
5. Pt. III, Scène XI - Le roi de Thulé. "Autrefois un roi de Thulé"
6. Pt. III, Scène XII - Evocation. "Esprits des flammes inconstantes"
7. Pt. III, Scène XII - Menuet des follets (Minuet of the Will-o'-the-Wisps)
8. Pt. III, Scène XII - "Maintenant, chantons a cette belle" - Sérénade de Méphistophélès "Devant la maison"
9. Pt. III, Scène XIII - Final. "Grand Dieu! ... Ange adoré"
10. Pt. III, Scène XIV - "Allons, il est trop tard! ... Je connais donc enfin"
11. Pt. IV, Scène XV - Romance. "D'amour l'ardente flamme"
12. Pt. IV, Scène XV - "Au son des trompettes"
13. Pt. IV, Scène XVI - Invocation à la nature. "Nature immense"
14. Pt. IV, Scène XVII - Récitatif et chasse. "A la voûte azurée"
15. Pt. IV, Scène XVIII - La course à l'abîme. "Dans mon coeur retentit sa voix"
16. Pt. IV, Scène XIX - Pandaemonium. "Has! Irimiru Karabrao! ... Tradioun Marexil"
17. Pt. IV, Scène XIX - Epilogue. "Alors, l'enfer se tut"
18. Pt. IV, Scène XX - Dans le ciel. "Laus! Hosanna!" - Apothéose de Marguerite. "Remonte au ciel, âme naïve"

Also available on