Debussy: Pelléas et Mélisande [download]

  • Release date: 6th October
    LSO0790 | 822231179023

    3 SACD Hybrid + Pure Audio Blu-ray | Digibox with carton sleeves
    Notes in En, Fr, Ge | French libretto with En translation | TBCpp booklet
    SACD incl. 2.0 stereo | multi-channel 5.1
    Blu-ray incl. 5.1 DTS -HD MA & 2.0 LPCM 24bit 192kHz | w. menu screen & mShuttle downloadable content
    Total playing time: approx. 158m

    James Mallinson: producer
    Classic Sound Ltd: engineering, editing, mixing & mastering
    Recorded live in DSD128fs at the Barbican Hall, 9-10th January 2016

  • **** ‘[This release] is a credit to the LSO’s own record label… Gerald Finley’s composed yet menacing Golaud is superb, and to have Bernarda Fink and Franz-Josef Selig as Geneviève and Arkel is real luxury casting. Under Rattle’s leadership the orchestra is a true protagonist in the drama.’
    The Guardian

    **** ‘Gerald Finley’s [Golaud is exemplary], and Christian Gerhaher and Magdalena Kožená bring character to Pelléas and Mélisande.’
    Financial Times

    ‘[Sir Simon’s] stewardship is key to the success of this reading… Finley’s Golaud is an outstanding achievement… The orchestral playing is excellent, the recording clear and immersive.’
    BBC Radio 3 Record Review

    ‘A confirmation of Britain’s blissful affinity with French romanticism.’
    Classique News

    ‘The world of Pelléas et Mélisande is one I would gladly settle in… stunning, hypnotic and beautiful. ’
    Sverige Radio

    ‘Rattle’s interpretation of Debussy’s dark, alluring opera is one of the tightest and most haunting… Magdalena Kožená and Christian Gerhaher are simply ideal cast in the title roles.’
    Online Merker

    Concert reviews

    ***** ‘Watch out for the live recording on LSO Live!’
    The Times

    ***** ‘Rattle’s relationship with this score is a long one, and it unfolds here in spontaneous, giddy arcs...picked out in gilded detail by the musicians of the LSO.’
    The Arts Desk

    **** ‘Irresistible...the performance was being recorded for LSO Live. I shall be first in the queue to buy it!’
    The Telegraph

    **** ‘Roll on the recording!’

    **** ‘Rattle’s moving statement of intent. Simon Rattle and Peter Sellars go headstrong into a bright future with the London Symphony Orchestra.’
    The Guardian

    **** ‘Rattle draws shimmering beauty from the forest.’
    The Standard

    ‘Rattle’s conducting was immaculate... the performance has made me think about the work again, wondering how far I should prod that glorious surface to see what lies beneath.’
    The Spectator


Sir Simon Rattle,
London Symphony Orchestra

Sir Simon Rattle leads an all-star cast in this highly anticipated new recording of Debussy’s evocative opera Pelléas et Mélisande. It was captured in January 2016 during performances of an innovative collaboration between Rattle and Peter Sellars, two of the boldest creative minds in music and theatre today. 

The plot, a love triangle between Prince Golaud, his wife Mélisande and his brother Pelléas, is shrouded in mystery and full of gripping twists and emotion-filled turns, ultimately ending in Pelléas’ untimely death. The sensuous score contains some of Debussy’s most exquisite music and perfectly crystalises the atmosphere of Maeterlinck’s original play. 


Composer   Debussy
Conductor   Sir Simon Rattle
Performers   London Symphony Orchestra,
London Symphony Chorus

Magdalena Kožená, Christian Gerhaher, Gerald Finley, Bernarda Fink, Franz-Josef Selig, Joshua Bloom, Elias Madlër

Track list
1. Acte 1, Scène 1, Une forêt - "Je ne pourrais plus sortir"
2. Acte 1, Scène 1 - "Pourquoi pleures-toi?"
3. Acte 1, Scène 1 - Interlude
4. Acte 1, Scène 2, Un appartement dans le château - "Voici ce qu'il écrit à son frère"
5. Acte 1, Scène 2 - "Qu'en dites-vous?"
6. Acte 1, Scène 2 - Interlude
7. Acte 1, Scène 3, Devant le château - "Il fait sombre dans les jardins"
8. Acte 1, Scène 3 - "Hoé hisse Hoé!"
9. Acte 2, Scène 1, Une fontaine dans le parc - "Vous ne savez pas où je vous ai menée ?"
10. Acte 2, Scène 1 - "C'est au bord d'une fontaine"
11. Acte 2, Scène 1 - Interlude
12. Acte 2, Scène 2, Un appartement dans le château - "Ah! Ah! Tout va bien"
13. Acte 2, Scène 2 - "Tiens, Où est l’anneau que je t’avais donné"
14. Acte 2, Scène 2 - Interlude
15. Acte 2 Scène 3, Devant une grotte - "Oui; c'est ici nous y sommes"
16. Acte 3, Scène 1, Une des tours du château - "Mes longs cheveux descendent"
17. Acte 3, Scène 1 - "Je les tiens dans le mains"
18. Acte 3, Scène 1 - "Que faites-vous ici?"
19. Acte 3, Scène 2, Les souterrains du château - "Prenez garde, par ici"
20. Acte 3, Scène 3, Une terrasse au sortir des souterrains - "Ah, je respire en fin!"
21. Acte 3, Scène 3 - Interlude
22. Acte 3, Scène 4, Devant le château - "Viens, nous allons nous asseoir ici"
23. Acte 3, Scène 4 - "Qu'ils s'embrassent, petit père?"
24. Acte 4, Scène 1, Un appartement dans le château - "Où vas-tu?"
25. Acte 4, Scène 2 - "Maintenant que le père de Pelléas"
26. Acte 4, Scène 2 - "Pelléas part ce soir"
27. Acte 4, Scène 2 - "Ne mettez pas ainsi votre main à la gorge"
28. Acte 4, Scène 2 - Interlude
29. Acte 4, Scène 3, Une fontaine dans le parc - "Oh! Cette pierre est lourde"
30. Acte 4, Scène 4 - "C'est le dernier soir"
31. Acte 4, Scène 4 - "Nous sommes venus ici il y a bien longtemps"
32. Acte 4, Scène 4 - "On dirait que ta voix"
33. Acte 4, Scène 4 - "Quel est ce bruit?"
34. Acte 5, Scène 1, Une chambre dans le château - "Ce n'est pas de cette petite blessure"
35. Acte 5, Scène 1 - "Attention, je crois qu'elle s'éveille"
36. Acte 5, Scène 1 - "Mélisande, as-tu pitié de moi?"
37. Acte 5, Scène 1 - "Non, non nous n'avons pas été coupables"
38. Acte 5, Scène 1 - "Qu'avez-vous fait?"
39. Acte 5, Scène 1 - "Qu'y a-t-il?"
40. Acte 5, Scène 1 - "Attention… attention!"

Also available on