--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Handel: Messiah – LSO Live

Handel: Messiah

  • Catalogue Number LSO0607
    UPC 822231160724

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded December 2006, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • Performance: **** Recording: **** ‘There is no denying that this is high quality playing.’
    BBC Music Magazine

    **** ‘The LSO's contributions are excellent, and some of Davis' choices are again intriguing.’
    Musical Criticism

    **** ‘There’s a warmth and softness to the sound.’
    The Times

    'The choral singing, from Tenebrae, is jaw-droppingly beautiful.'
    The Guardian

    'This one definitely belongs in the hall of fame... Bravo!'
    Audiophile Audition


Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

Handel’s Messiah has become one of the major icons in the musical life of the UK. Choral societies perform it to willing audiences at Christmas and Easter, the ’Hallelujah’ chorus is sung at football grounds to ribald new lyrics, and the roof of the Royal Albert Hall is periodically tested by the rising air from several thousand enthusiastic amateurs giving it their all in a ‘Messiah from Scratch’.



Bonus DVD
The bonus DVD features highlights from the performances in December 2006 and an interview with Sir Colin Davis.

Composer   Handel
Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   London Symphony Orchestra, Tenebrae
Soloists   Susan Gritton, Sara Mingardo, Mark Padmore, Alastair Miles

Track list
Disc 1
1. Messiah: Part I, No 1. Sinfonia
2. Messiah: Part I, No 2. Comfort Ye My People
3. Messiah: Part I, No 3. Ev'ry Valley Shall Be Exalted
4. Messiah: Part I, No 4. And the Glory of the Lord
5. Messiah: Part I, No 5. Thus Saith the Lord
6. Messiah: Part I, No 6. But Who May Abide the Day of His Coming?
7. Messiah: Part I, No 7. And He Shall Purify
8. Messiah: Part I, No 8. Behold, a Virgin Shall Conceive
9. Messiah: Part I, No 9. O Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion
10. Messiah: Part I, No 9.a. O Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion (Chorus)
11. Messiah: Part I, No 10. For, Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth
12. Messiah: Part I, No 11. The People That Walked In Darkness
13. Messiah: Part I, No 12. For Unto Us a Child Is Born
14. Messiah: Part I, No 13. Pifa
15. Messiah: Part I, Nos 14a-16. There Were Shepherds Abiding In the Field
16. Messiah: Part I, No 17. Glory to God
17. Messiah: Part I, No 18. Rejoice Greatly, O Daughter of Zion
18. Messiah: Part I, No 19. Then Shall the Eyes of the Blind
19. Messiah: Part I, No 20. He Shall Feed His Flock Like a Shepherd
20. Messiah: Part I, No 21. His Yoke Is Easy
21. Messiah: Part II, No 22. Behold the Lamb of God
22. Messiah: Part II, No 23. He Was Despised
23. Messiah: Part II, No 24. Surely He Hath Borne Our Griefs
24. Messiah: Part II, No 25. And With His Stripes We Are Healed
25. Messiah: Part II, No 26. All We Like Sheep Have Gone Astray

Disc 2
1. Messiah: Part II, No 27. All They That See Him Laugh Him to Scorn
2. Messiah: Part II, No 28. He Trusted In God
3. Messiah: Part II, No 29. Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart
4. Messiah: Part II, No 30. Behold, and See If There Be Any Sorrow
5. Messiah: Part II, No 31. He Was Cut Off Out of the Land of the Living
6. Messiah: Part II, No 32. But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul In Hell
7. Messiah: Part II, No 33. Lift Up Your Heads, O Ye Gates
8. Messiah: Part II, No 34. Unto Which of the Angels Said He At Any Time
9. Messiah: Part II, No 35. Let All the Angels of God Worship Him
10. Messiah: Part II, No 36. Thou Art Gone Up On High
11. Messiah: Part II, No 37. The Lord Gave the Word
12. Messiah: Part II, No 38. How Beautiful Are the Feet
13. Messiah: Part II, No 39. Their Sound Is Gone Out
14. Messiah: Part II, No 40. Why Do the Nations So Furiously Rage Together?
15. Messiah: Part II, No 41. Let Us Break Their Bonds Asunder
16. Messiah: Part II, No 42. He That Dwelleth In Heaven
17. Messiah: Part II, No 43. Thou Shalt Break Them
18. Messiah: Part II, No 44. Hallelujah
19. Messiah: Part III, No 45. I Know That My Redeemer Liveth
20. Messiah: Part III, No 46. Since By Man Came Death
21. Messiah: Part III, No 47. Behold, I Tell You a Mystery
22. Messiah: Part III, No 48. The Trumpet Shall Sound
23. Messiah: Part III, No 49. Then Shall Be Brought to Pass
24. Messiah: Part III, No 50. O Death, Where Is Thy Sting?
25. Messiah: Part III, No 51. But Thanks Be to God
26. Messiah: Part III, No 52. If God be for us
27. Messiah: Part III, No 53a. Worthy is the Lamb that was slain
28. Messiah: Part III, No 53b. Amen

Also available on