Strauss: Elektra

  • Catalogue Number LSO0701
    UPC 822231170129

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineer

    Recorded January 2010, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Includes multi-channel 5.1 and stereo mixes
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • Clef du Mois Res Musica (France)

    ***** ‘A thrilling, often revelatory performance, alive to every intense and modernistic gesture. Valery Gergiev finds both great colour and emotional depth in the music … the London Symphony Orchestra on superb form … First-class sound and presentation.’
    Time Out

    Recording ***** ‘Gergiev, with the LSO in fine form and vivid SACD sound, conveys passions and tensions with compelling, sometimes deafening power.’ BBC Music Magazine

    ‘The phenomenal playing and virtuosity demonstrated by the 112 players of the LSO combined with the close Barbican sound allows the listener unprecedented access to the inner workings of Strauss’s score in a fashion that would be impossible in the opera house.’
    Classical CD Choice

    'This may well be the most perfectly played Elektra on disc'

    ‘Valery Gergiev was clearly born to conduct Elektra, and not just because of his trademark animal energy. Whatever the technical complexity behind the score, Gergiev has the LSO sailing through metre- and key-changes with almost effortless fluidity, and Strauss’s dramaturgical acumen has never seemed clearer.’ Gramophone

    ‘The London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Gergiev presents a riveting performance of Strauss’ one-act opera Elektra … Highly recommended.’ The Northern Echo

    ‘The cast for this live concert recording is mostly compelling … the star of this release (particularly the SACD version) is Strauss's writing for a massive orchestra, with super-saturated detail and climaxes that hit a listener in the solar plexus.’ Listen

    ***** 'Dass Valery Gergiev mehr als andere Dirigenten aus der Strauss-Oper Elektra einen musikalischen Hexenkessel machen wuerde, war vorauszusehen: Das tragische Drama mit seinen Leidenschaften, seinen Grausamkeiten und seinem ganzen Grauen ist bei ihm in kochenden Haenden. Wie kein anderer arbeitet er die Kontraste und Dissonanzen heraus und entzuendet im Orchester eine Klangexplosion von ekstatischer Gewalt.' Pizzicato

    *** ‘Une distribution vocale frisant la perfection donne à cette interprétation tout sa grandeur. (A vocal line-up bordering on perfection gives this interpretation all its grandeur.)' Valeurs Actuelles


Valery Gergiev, London Symphony Orchestra

The one-act opera Elektra, containing one of the most demanding soprano roles in the repertoire, is based on the ancient Greek myth as retold by Hugo von Hofmannsthal. The work focuses on the relationships between Elektra, Chrysothemis, and their mother Klytamnestra, and the themes of love, hate and revenge. The drama's raw emotions are exquisitely expressed in some of Strauss' finest music.

Composer   Strauss
Conductor   Valery Gergiev
Performers   London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Orchestra
Soloists   Jeanne-Michèle Charbonnet, Angela Denoke, Dame Felicity Palmer, Matthias Goerne, Ian Storey, Lia Shevtsova, Olga Legkova, Ekaterina Popova, Ekaterina Sergeeva, Tatiana Kravtsova, Andrei Popov, Ian Storey, Varvara Solovieva & Vuyani Mlinde

Track list
Disc 1
1. Elektra: 'Wo bleibt Elektra?'
2. Elektra: 'Allein!'
3. Elektra: 'Elektra!'
4. Elektra: 'Ich kann nicht sitzen'
5. Elektra: 'Was heulst du?'
6. Elektra: 'Was willst du?'
7. Elektra: 'Ich habe keine guten Nächte'
8. Elektra: 'Was bluten muß?'
9. Elektra: Orest! Orest ist tot!'

Disc 2
1. Elektra: 'Platz da!'
2. Elektra: 'Wie stark du bist!'
3. Elektra: 'Von jetzt an will ich deine Schwester sein'
4. Elektra: 'Nun denn, allein!'
5. Elektra: 'Was willst du, fremder Mensch?'
6. Elektra: 'Orest!'
7. Elektra: 'Seid ihr von Sinnen'
8. Elektra: 'He! Lichter!'
9. Elektra: 'Agamemnon hört dich!'
10. Elektra: 'Wir sind bei den Göttern'

Also available on