--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos 1–3 – LSO Live

Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos 1–3

  • Catalogue Number LSO0710
    UPC 822231171027

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded live at the Barbican and Tonhalle Zurich, January – May 2011

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Stereo and multi-channel 5.0
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • Limelight’s Recording of the Month
    ***** 'I was entranced from beginning to end by the panache, finesse and imagination ... This is a set where everything seems to go right in terms of sound, interpretation and playing. I’ll be very surprised if it’s not on my list of 2012 favourites.'

    ***** ‘Back in the Russian repertory that he knows so well, and to which he responds more vividly than perhaps any other conductor alive today, Gergiev is once again irresistible … The LSO's playing is consistently outstanding, too.’
    The Guardian

    ‘It is LSO Live’s policy to exclude applause. However, given the infectious quality of the music-making, you may feel inclined to append your own!’

    ‘Balletic is the word for this new set from Valery Gergiev and the London Symphony Orchestra issued on the LSO Live label. Everything is full-bodied, as if accompanying bodies in motion… It all sounds fresh and rethought, with individual instruments afforded plenty of space, especially the ripe, pungent winds.'
    Boston Globe

    ‘Valery Gergiev and the LSO inject new life into the rich and expressive earlier works. Recorded live in London and Zurich, these compelling performances come highly recommended.’
    Northern Echo

    ‘Gergiev's interpretations are among the most satisfying I've encountered and, especially in their SACD form, are superior in sound quality to many of the older accounts.’


Sold Out

Valery Gergiev, London Symphony Orchestra

Following his acclaimed Mariinsky DVD of the final three symphonies, Valery Gergiev conducts outstanding performances of the earlier works with the LSO.

Tchaikovsky's early symphonies are full of rich expressive melodies – something for which he had a natural talent. They contain influences of Russian nationalism and folk tunes, particularly in the Second Symphony ('Little Russian') and the First, which hints at a Russian landscape. The choreographer George Balanchine exploited the dance-like nature of the Third Symphony by using it as the basis for the final part of his ballet masterpiece, Jewels.

Composer   Tchaikovsky
Conductor   Valery Gergiev
Performers   London Symphony Orchestra

Track list
Disc 1
1. Symphony No 1 'Winter Daydreams': I. Allegro tranquillo
2. Symphony No 1 'Winter Daydreams': II. Adagio cantabile ma non tanto
3. Symphony No 1 'Winter Daydreams': III. Scherzo. Allegro scherzando giocoso
4. Symphony No 1 'Winter Daydreams': IV. Finale. Andante lugubre – Allegro maestoso
5. Symphony No 2 'Little Russian': I. Andante sostenuto – Allegro vivo
6. Symphony No 2 'Little Russian': II. Andantino marziale, quasi moderato
7. Symphony No 2 'Little Russian': III. Scherzo. Allegro molto vivace
8. Symphony No 2 'Little Russian': IV. Finale. Moderato assai – Allegro vivo

Disc 2
1. Symphony No 3 'Polish': I. Introduzione e allegro. Moderato assai
2. Symphony No 3 'Polish': II. Alla tedesca. Allegro moderato e semplice
3. Symphony No 3 'Polish': III. Andante elegiaco
4. Symphony No 3 'Polish': IV. Scherzo. Allegro vivo
5. Symphony No 3 'Polish': V. Finale. Allegro con fuoco

Also available on