LSO Live
London Symphony Orchestra
Live Music

LSO Live  | Secure Shopping

Tippett: A Child of Our Time [download]

  • Catalogue Number LSO0670
    UPC 822231167020

    James Mallinson producer
    Neil Hutchinson and Jonathan Stokes for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded December 2007, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • Editor's Choice 'On this occasion the Classic Sound engineers and editors have managed a good blend of the intimate and the intense…There are emotional depths here which turn this recording into something very special’ Gramophone

    Opera and Vocal Disc of the Month 'Davis and his fine solo team miraculously project a searing message of injustice known to all too many children of our time. The octogenarian's astonishing energy, fully matched by the LSO, fuels a great performance from the London Symphony Chorus. Unmissable.' Classic FM Magazine

    'Colin Davis's touch is masterly ... The orchestral playing is peerless. The casting of Indra Thomas is superb, her coloratura descants above the spirituals ideally matched ... Mihoko Fujimura sings with lustrous tone and line ... Steve Davislim and bass Matthew Rose are likewise immaculate ... the present recording under Sir Colin Davis is a magnificent realization of its omnipresent message - and it is, in the process, very moving indeed.' International Record Review

    'Even finer is the LSO itself: you can feel the intensity right from the opening notes, especially from the strings, and telling phrases stand out time and time again.'BBC Music Magazine


Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

Tippett’s response to the infamous Krystallnacht pogrom against the Jews in 1938 was his first major statement as an artist. Tippett took the title, A Child of Our Time, from a novel about a Nazi solider who suffers for showing compassion, whilst the intensity of the piece is heightened by his use of spiritual songs at the end of each section.

Composer   Tippett
Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Orchestra
Soloists   Indra Thomas, Mihoko Fujimura, Steve Davislim, Matthew Rose

Track list
1. A Child of Our Time: Nos 1-2. The World Turns On Its Dark Side: Interludium
2. A Child of Our Time: Nos 3-5. Scene: Is Evil Then Good?: Chorus of the Oppressed, When Shall the Userers' City Cease
3. A Child of Our Time: Nos 6-7. I Have No Money for My Bread - How Can I Cherish My Man In Such Days
4. A Child of Our Time: No 8. A Spiritual, Steal Away
5. A Child of Our Time: Nos 9-15. A Star Rises in Mid-Winter - Scene, O My Son!
6. A Child of Our Time: No 16. A Spiritual, Nobody Knows the Trouble I See, Lord
7. A Child of Our Time: Nos 17-20. Scene, the Boy Becomes Desperate In His Agony - Men Were Ashamed of What Was Done
8. A Child of Our Time: No 21. A Spiritual of Anger, Go Down Moses
9. A Child of Our Time: Nos 22-24. The Boy Sings In His Prison, My Dreams Are All Shattered - the Dark Forces Rise Like a
10. A Child of Our Time: No 25. A Spiritual, O, By and By
11. A Child of Our Time: Nos 26-27. The Cold Deepens, the Soul of Man
12. A Child of Our Time: No 28. Scene, the Words of Wisdom Are These - Praeludium
13. A Child of Our Time: No 29. General Ensemble, I Would Know My Shadow and My Light
14. A Child of Our Time: No 30. A Spiritual, Deep River

Also available on

Related products