We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold.

Verdi: Requiem [Download] – LSO Live

Verdi: Requiem [Download]

  • James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded January 2009, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes and synopsis in English / en français / auf Deutsch
    Includes complete text in Latin and English


Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

Aside from his operas, Verdi is best known for his extraordinary Requiem, written in memory of the Italian writer and nationalist Alessandro Manzoni. The dramatic power of the famous Dies irae and the sublime lyricism of the work’s solo passages have led many to describe it as more of an opera than a formal Requiem Mass.

Composer   Verdi
Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Orchestra
Soloists   Christine Brewer, Karen Cargill, Stuart Neill, John Relyea

Track list
Disc 1
1. Requiem: I. Requiem Aeternam
2. Requiem: II. Dies Irae
3. Requiem: III. Tuba Mirum
4. Requiem: IV. Liber Scriptus
5. Requiem: V. Quid Sum Miser
6. Requiem: VI. Rex Tremendae
7. Requiem: VII. Recordare
8. Requiem: VIII. Ingemisco
9. Requiem: IX. Confutatis
10. Requiem: X. Lacrymosa

Disc 1
1. Requiem: XI. Domine Jesu Christe
2. Requiem: XII. Hostias
3. Requiem: XIII. Sanctus
4. Requiem: XIV. Agnus Dei
5. Requiem: XV. Lux Aeterna
6. Requiem: XVI. Libera Me, Dies Irae, Requiem Aeternam
7. Requiem: XVII. Libera Me

Also available on