--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Mahler: Symphonies Nos 1–9 – LSO Live

Mahler: Symphonies Nos 1–9

  • Catalogue Number LSO0730
    UPC 822231173021

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded at the Barbican 2007-11
    (Symphony No 8 recorded in St Paul's Cathedral, London 2008)

    Stereo and multi-channel 5.1/5.0
    Notes in English, French and German.
    Texts in German and Latin with English translations.

  • ****½ 'A fantastic orchestra!'
    Audiophile Audition

    'The orchestral playing never disappoints.'
    The Arts Desk


Valery Gergiev 
London Symphony Orchestra

Valery Gergiev’s performances and recordings of Mahler’s symphonies with the LSO have garnered international acclaim. They have performed the works in Europe, North America and the Far East and their recordings have received numerous awards. The symphonies, originally released between 2008 and 2011, are now available digitally in a variety of formats.

Gustav Mahler redefined the dimensions, structure, and possibilities for expression that the symphony offered. Neglected for decades after his untimely death, his symphonies are now universally regarded as among the greatest works of music. The themes of faith, love, tragedy and death run throughout the cycle of nine completed scores, effectively chronicling the career of one of the greatest composers on an epic scale.

Composer   Mahler
Conductors   Valery Gergiev
Performers   Tiffin Boys' Choir, Choir of Eltham College, Ladies of the London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Orchestra
Soloists   Elena Mosuc, Zlata Bulycheva, Anna Larsson, Laura Claycomb, Viktoria Yastrebova, Ailish Tynan, Liudmila Dudinova, Lilli Paasikivi, Sergei Semishkur, Alexey Markov, Evgeny Nikitin

Track list
Disc 1
1. Symphony No 1: I. Langsam. Schleppen
2. Symphony No 1: II. Kraftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell
3. Symphony No 1: III. Feierlich und gemessen, ohne zu schleppen
4. Symphony No 1: IV. Sturmisch bewegt
5. Symphony No 10: Adagio

Disc 2
1. Symphony No 2: I. Allegro maestoso
2. Symphony No 2: II. Andante moderato
3. Symphony No 2: III. in ruhig fliessender Bewegung
4. Symphony No 2: IV. Urlicht. Sehr feierlich, aber schlicht
5. Symphony No 2: V. Im Tempo des Scherzo

Disc 3
1. Symphony No 3, Pt I: I. Kräftig. Entschieden

Disc 4
1. Symphony No 3, Pt II: II. Tempo di menuetto. Grazioso
2. Symphony No 3, Pt II: III. Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast
3. Symphony No 3, Pt II: IV. Sehr langsam. Misterioso
4. Symphony No 3, Pt II: V. Lustig im Tempo und keck im Ausdruck
5. Symphony No 3, Pt II: VI. Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden

Disc 5
1. Symphony No 4: I. Bedachtig. Nicht eilen
2. Symphony No 4: II. In gemachlicher Bewegung. Ohne Hast
3. Symphony No 4: III. Ruhewoll
4. Symphony No 4: IV. Sehr behaglich

Disc 6
1. Symphony No 5: I. Trauermarsch
2. Symphony No 5: II. Sturmisch bewegt, mit grosster Vehemenz
3. Symphony No 5: III. Scherzo
4. Symphony No 5: IV. Adagietto
5. Symphony No 5: V. Rondo. Finale

Disc 7
1. Symphony No 6: I. Allegro energico, ma non troppo
2. Symphony No 6: II. Andante moderato
3. Symphony No 6: III. Scherzo. Wuchtig
4. Symphony No 6: IV. Finale. Allegro moderato

Disc 8
1. Symphony No 7: I. Langsam (Adagio) - Allegro con fuoco
2. Symphony No 7: II. Nachtmusik. Allegro moderato
3. Symphony No 7: III. Scherzo. Schattenhaft
4. Symphony No 7: IV. Nachtmusik. Andante amoroso
5. Symphony No 7: V. Rondo-Finale. Allegro ordinario - Allegro moderato ma energico

Disc 9
1. Symphony No 8: Pt I: I. Veni, creator spiritus
2. Symphony No 8: Pt I: II. Imple superna gratia
3. Symphony No 8: Pt I: III. Infirma nostri corporis
4. Symphony No 8: Pt I: IV. Accende lumen sensibus
5. Symphony No 8: Pt I: V. Veni, creator spiritus
6. Symphony No 8: Pt I: VI. Gloria Patri Domino
7. Symphony No 8: Pt II: I. Poco adagio
8. Symphony No 8: Pt II: II. Ewiger Wonnerbrand
9. Symphony No 8: Pt II: III. Wie Felsenabgrund mir zu Fussen
10. Symphony No 8: Pt II: IV. Gerettet ist das edle Glied
11. Symphony No 8: Pt II: V. Uns bleibt ein Erdenrest
12. Symphony No 8: Pt II: VI. Hochste Herrscherin der Welt!
13. Symphony No 8: Pt II: VII. Dir, der Unberuhrbaren
14. Symphony No 8: Pt II: VIII. Bei der Liebe, die den Fussen
15. Symphony No 8: Pt II: IX. Neige, neige, du Ohnegleiche
16. Symphony No 8: Pt II: X. Komm! Hebe dich zu hohern Spharen!
17. Symphony No 8: Pt II: XI. Blikket auf
18. Symphony No 8: Pt II: XII. Alles Vergängliche

Disc 10
1. Symphony No 9: I. Andante comodo
2. Symphony No 9: II. Im Tempo eines gemächlichen Ländlers. Etwas täppisch und sehr derb
3. Symphony No 9: III. Rondo-Burleske: Allegro assai. Sehr trotzig
4. Symphony No 9: IV. Adagio. Sehr langsam und noch zurückhaltend

Also available on