--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie [Digital Download] – LSO Live

Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie [download]

  • Catalogue Number LSO0689
    UPC 822231168928

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd sound engineers

    Recorded June 2008, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • BBC Radio 3 CD Review’s CD of the Week
    ‘Even among some of the finest and classic recordings this new one has something special about it ... Haitink and the LSO offer us a reading that unfolds with an almost effortless logic … a fine recording.’

    Gramophone Magazine’s Editor's Choice and Disc of the Month
    'Another of those superb LSO Live recordings... no one has quite Haitink’s sense of the piece as a rational symphonic argument [and his] admirers should not hesitate to acquire an archetypal example of Haitink’s unobtrusive podium manner.’

    ***** '[Haitink] penetrates to the core of the musical substance and views the Alpine Symphony as a coherent structure rather than a random sequence ... The orchestra rises magnificently to the challenge of this climax, but the impact is all the more thrilling and awe-inspiring through having been so shrewdly approached via the pastures, undergrowth and glaciers of the preceding scenes. Haitink draws out lucid instrumental detail from Strauss’s complex combinations of timbres, establishing apt colours in the summoning of atmosphere, dramatically so in the storm and with subtle perception throughout. Equally, his natural feel for the music’s fluctuating pulse lends this momentous journey an ineluctable sense of purpose, direction and exhilaration.'
    Daily Telegraph

    'Mastery is the word. This depiction of a mountain climb achieves the peak of orchestral expertise ... it has immense grandeur.'
    The Times

    ‘While the splendour of the LSO’s playing these days is no surprise, it’s a remarkable phenomenon even so. Haitink’s interpretation allows full scope for grand effects while keeping a tight rein on the works unfolding progress.’
    Classic FM Magazine


Bernard Haitink, London Symphony Orchestra

In his Alpine Symphony Strauss recounts an attempt to conquer the summit of an Alpine mountain. He infuses the score with numerous instrumental colours and rich combinations of sounds, evoking the images and events that take place on the trek. It was to be one of his final large-scale orchestral works and shows the last great German Romantic composer at the pinnacle of his art.

Composer   Strauss
Conductor   Bernard Haitink
Performers   London Symphony Orchestra

Track list
1. Eine Alpensinfonie: I. Nacht - Sonnenaufgang
2. Eine Alpensinfonie: II. Der Anstieg - Eintritt in den Wald
3. Eine Alpensinfonie: III. Wanderung neben dem Bache - Am Wasserfall - Erscheinung - Auf blumigen Wiesen
4. Eine Alpensinfonie: IV. Auf der Alm - Durch Dickicht und Gestruepp auf Irrwegen
5. Eine Alpensinfonie: V. Auf dem Gletscher - Gefahrvolle Augenblicke
6. Eine Alpensinfonie: VI. Auf dem Gipfel
7. Eine Alpensinfonie: VII. Vision - Nebel steigen auf - Die Sonne verduestert sich allmaehlich - Elegie
8. Eine Alpensinfonie: VIII. Stille cor den Sturm - Gewitter und Sturm, Abstieg - Sonnenuntergang
9. Eine Alpensinfonie: IX. Ausklang
10. Eine Alpensinfonie: X. Nacht

Also available on