LSO Live
London Symphony Orchestra
Live Music

LSO Live  | Secure Shopping

The Panufnik Legacies [digital download]

    1. Andrew McCormack: Incentive
    2. Charlie Piper: Flēotan
    3. Eloise Nancie Gynn: Sakura
    4. Jason Yarde: Rude Awakening!
    5. Christopher Mayo: Therma
  • Catalogue Number LSO5061
    UPC 822231506126


    MP3 320 kbps [stereo]

    Jonathan Stokes producer

    Recorded at LSO St Luke's, October 2012

  • Reviews editor's Choice June 2013 ‘There are plenty of imaginative sounds in The Panufnik Legacies, a CD from the LSO showcasing works by young composers. In Flēotan, Charlie Piper creates the sense of sounds suspended in the air, while in Christopher Mayo’s Therma, earthy rumblings gradually erupt. A highlight for me, though, was Eloise Nancie Gynn’s Sakura (cherry blossom) in which darker forces emerge and subside against a backdrop of atmospheric shimmers.’
    BBC Music Magazine

    **** '‘There are 11 firecrackers on this disc, written by 10 composers who have been nurtured by the LSO’s Panufnik Young Composers Scheme.’The Daily Telegraph

    ‘There is not a work on this disc that I would not wish to hear again. Some of the composers I will certainly be looking out for again. François-Xavier Roth and the LSO do these young composers proud on this well recorded CD that is a tribute to both the composers featured and the Panufnik Young Composers Scheme.’ The Classical Reviewer

    'This is certainly a disc for those who are musically curious, and maybe the best way in is through Jason Yarde’s coolly inviting Rude Awakening, which lives up to its name! The LSO plays marvellously for the unstinting François-Xavier Roth. There is much to relish here, the music of now and the future. What’s more, the sound is superb in its clarity and impact, not transferred too loudly (as can be the case these days), allowing the orchestra space and dynamism. All round, very impressive.' Hi-Fi Critic

    ‘The Panufnik Legacies is the disc’s title, it could well be a vital introduction to some talents of the future.’ BBC Radio 3 CD Review

    'Francois-Xavier Roth and the orchestra defend the best of these scores. Hats off!' Classica

    ‘The Panufnik Legacies is an extremely valuable release, demonstrating the London Symphony Orchestra’s commitment to contemporary music, François-Xavier Roth’s dynamic and committed conducting, and that music being written right now is in very good health.’ Classical Source

    ‘All of the pieces benefit from the commitment and alacrity of the LSO’s response, reinforced by Francois-Xavier Roth’s no less dedicated conducting.’ International Record Review

    Praise for The Panufnik Legacies composers

    ‘Christian Mason is a composer to watch out for.’ Classical Source

    ‘Nesbit is his own man writing with virtuosic confidence and clarity.’
    The Arts Desk

    ‘An exciting, distinctive voice and a rigorous ear for detail.’
    The Observer on Martin Suckling

    ‘Maistorovici displays a strong melodic invention.’ Classical Source

    ‘Andrew McCormack’s Incentive, mingled a film noir atmosphere with the middle-period Stravinskian rhythmic energy, to energising effect.’ The Telegraph


François-Xavier Roth
London Symphony Orchestra

An album of new works by ten emerging composers. The pieces - originally commissioned as part of the LSO Panufnik Scheme - were recorded in LSO St Luke's and are now presented on disc, enabling the LSO to share and promote the composers' music world-wide. The LSO Panufnik Scheme began in 2005 and each year offers six composers the opportunity to write a 3 minute piece for the LSO. This recording showcases the works of selected composers from across the first five years of the scheme, representing the eclectic range of styles and influences of the 45 composers who have now worked with the Orchestra through this scheme.

Watch the video trailer

The LSO Panufnik Young Composers Scheme is generously supported by the Helen Hamlyn Trust. It was devised by the LSO in association with Lady Panufnik in memory of her late husband, the composer Sir Andrzej Panufnik.

Composers   Andrew McCormack, Christian Mason, Charlie Piper, Eloise Nancie Gynn, Edward Nesbit, Jason Yarde, Martin Suckling, Christopher Mayo, Elizabeth Winters, Vlad Maistorovici
Conductor   François-Xavier Roth
Performers   London Symphony Orchestra

Track list
1. Andrew McCormack: Incentive
2. Christian Mason: ...From Bursting Suns Escaping...
3. Charlie Piper: Flēotan
4. Eloise Nancie Gynn: Sakura
5. Edward Nesbit: Parallels I
6. Edward Nesbit: Parallels II
7. Jason Yarde: Rude Awakening!
8. Martin Suckling: Fanfare for a Newborn Child
9. Christopher Mayo: Therma
10. Elizabeth Winters: Sudden Squall, Sudden Shadow
11. Vlad Maistorovici: Halo

Also available on

Related products