--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Nielsen: Symphonies Nos 1–6 – LSO Live

Nielsen: The Complete Symphonies

  • Catalogue Number LSO0789
    UPC 822231178927

    James Mallinson producer
    Classic Sound Ltd engineering, editing, mixing & mastering

    3SACD + 1 Blu-ray audio / digital

    DSD recording, live at the Barbican in October 2011 (Symphony No 1), December 2011 (Symphony Nos 2 & 3), May 2010 (Symphony No 4), October 2009 (Symphony No 5), May & June 2011 (Symphony No 6).

    Audio 2.0 Stereo and multi-channel (5.1)
    Pure Audio Blu-ray includes 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio 24bit/192kHz & 2.0 LPCM 24bit/192kHz. Also includes downloadable files of the audio.

    Total playing time 3h 21m
    Digibox with carton sleeves
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • Audiophile Audition’s Multichannel Set of the Month
    ***** ‘Wow! What a treasure trove this one is… The original SACDs were exemplary in their stunning audio presentations, as good as I have ever heard on LSO Live and the best-sounding Nielsen symphonies ever… these certainly surpass all the others in my collection… Outstanding!’

    NDR Kultur’s CD of the Week
    ‘Force and rhythmic energy are among the trademarks of Nielsen's symphonies. This is clearly evident in the concert recordings under the direction of Colin Davis… A great discovery, thanks to Colin Davis and the excellent London Symphony Orchestra.’

    ‘This set of live recordings is the legacy… [Sir Colin Davis] and the orchestra give passionate accounts of all six.’
    The Sunday Times

    ‘This cycle undeniably represents some of [Sir Colin Davis’s] most important later work… one of the better and more imaginative sets of the Nielsen symphonies. Highly recommended!’


Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

These recordings, made during Sir Colin Davis’ ‘Indian summer’ with the orchestra, are acknowledged to be amongst the finest recordings ever made of this repertoire, receiving numerous awards. The symphonies were originally released between 2011 and 2013 and will now be made available together for the first time as a beautifully packaged 3 SACD box set, including one Pure Audio Blu-ray disc.

Despite giving titles to the majority of his symphonies, Danish composer Carl Nielsen was often vague about what influenced each work. Nevertheless he was a master symphonist and his music is mesmerising, combining propulsive energy with lyrical invention.

Composer   Nielsen
Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   Lucy Hall, Marcus Farnsworth, London Symphony Orchestra

Track list
Disc 1
1. Symphony No 1: i. Allegro orgoglioso
2. Symphony No 1: ii. Andante
3. Symphony No 1: iii. Allegro comodo
4. Symphony No 1: iv. Finale: Allegro con fuoco
5. Symphony No 2: i. Allegro collerico
6. Symphony No 2: ii. Allegro comodo e flemmatico
7. Symphony No 2: iii. Andante malincolico
8. Symphony No 2: iv. Allegro sanguineo - Marziale

Disc 2
1. Symphony No 3: i. Allegro espansivo
2. Symphony No 3: ii. Andante pastorale
3. Symphony No 3: iii. Allegretto un poco
4. Symphony No 3: iv. Finale: Allegro
5. Symphony No 4: i. Allegro
6. Symphony No 4: ii. Poco allegretto
7. Symphony No 4: iii. Poco adagio quasi andante
8. Symphony No 4: iv. Allegro

Disc 3
1. Symphony No 5: i. I - Tempo giusto
2. Symphony No 5: ii. I - Adagio
3. Symphony No 5: iii. II - Allegro
4. Symphony No 6: i. Tempo giusto
5. Symphony No 6: ii. Humoreske: Allegretto
6. Symphony No 6: iii. Proposta seria: Adagio
7. Symphony No 6: iv. Tema con variazioni: Allegro

Disc 4
Pure Audio Blu-ray disc, containing all audio files and downloadable files

Also available on