--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Britten: Peter Grimes – LSO Live

Britten: Peter Grimes

  • Catalogue Number LSO0054
    UPC 822231105428

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded January 2004, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes and synopsis in English / en Francais / auf Deutsch (includes complete libretto in English)

  • Grammy Award Nomination for Best Classical Album

    ***** 'Captures all the weight and wondrous sonorities of this extraordinary piece.'
    The Mail on Sunday

    'A stunning achievement. No other set quite matches it for technical control and overwhelming firepower. The crucial interludes confirm the sovereign reputation of the current LSO.'

    'Another triumph from the LSO Live label. A strong contender for recording of the year.'
    Classic FM Magazine

    'Colin Davis and the LSO give a reading of the score that's simply scorching.'
    Classics Today

    'An unmissible opportunity to confront one of the defining masterpieces of 20th Century music.'
    The Independent on Sunday

£7.49 £9.99

Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

Sir Colin Davis conducts one of the 20th century's greatest works, Britten's Peter Grimes. Recorded at the opening concerts in the LSO's centenary celebrations with a magnificent cast, this release was one of 2004's most exciting.

Composer   Britten
Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Orchestra
Soloists   Glenn Winslade, Janice Watson, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Jill Grove, Sally Matthews, Alison Buchanan, Christopher Gillett, James Rutherford, Catherine Wyn-Rogers, Ryland Davies, Nathan Gunn, Jonathan Lemalu

Track list
Disc 1
1. Peter Grimes: Prologue "Peter Grimes!"
2. Peter Grimes: Prologue "The truth ... the pity ..."
3. Peter Grimes: Act I. Interlude 1
4. Peter Grimes: Act I. "Oh, hang at open doors ..."
5. Peter Grimes: Act I. "I'll give a hand ..."
6. Peter Grimes: Act I. "Let her among you without fault"
7. Peter Grimes: Act I. "Look, the storm cone!"
8. Peter Grimes: Act I. "And do you prefer the storm ..."
9. Peter Grimes: Act I. Interlude 2
10. Peter Grimes: Act I. "Past time to close!"
11. Peter Grimes: Act I. "We live and let live ..."
12. Peter Grimes: Act I. "Now the Great Bear and Pleiades"
13. Peter Grimes: Act I. "For peace sake ... Old Joe has gone fishing ..."

Disc 2
1. Peter Grimes: Act II. Interlude 3
2. Peter Grimes: Act II. "Glitter of Waves"
3. Peter Grimes: Act II. "Now that the daylight fills the sky"
4. Peter Grimes: Act II. "Fool to let it come to this"
5. Peter Grimes: Act II. "We planned that their lives ..."
6. Peter Grimes: Act II. "From the gutter ..."
7. Peter Grimes: Act II. Interlude 4
8. Peter Grimes: Act II. "Go there!"
9. Peter Grimes: Act II. "In dreams I've built myself ..."
10. Peter Grimes: Act II. "The whole affair gives Borough talk ..."

Disc 3
1. Peter Grimes: Act III. Interlude 5
2. Peter Grimes: Act III. "Assign your prettiness to me"
3. Peter Grimes: Act III. "Embroidery in childhood ..."
4. Peter Grimes: Act III. "Mr Swallow ..."
5. Peter Grimes: Act III. Interlude 6
6. Peter Grimes: Act III. "Grimes! ... Steady. There you are. Nearly Home."
7. Peter Grimes: Act III. "Peter, we've come to take you home"
8. Peter Grimes: Act III. "To those who pass the Borough sounds betray"

Also available on