--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Handel: Messiah [digital download] – LSO Live

Handel: Messiah [download]

  • Catalogue Number LSO0607-D
    UPC 0822231160767

    Released 9 October 2007

    James Mallinson

    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd

    December 2006 in the Barbican Hall, London

    ALAC - 24bit 96kHz - Compatible with Apple devices (MacOS and iOS)
    FLAC - 24bit 96kHz - Compatible with Windows and Android devices
    MP3 - 320kbps - Universal compatibility

    Booklet in English, French & German

  • Performance: **** Recording: **** ‘There is no denying that this is high quality playing.’
    BBC Music Magazine

    **** ‘The LSO's contributions are excellent, and some of Davis' choices are again intriguing.’
    Musical Criticism

    **** ‘There’s a warmth and softness to the sound.’
    The Times

    'The choral singing, from Tenebrae, is jaw-droppingly beautiful.'
    The Guardian

    'This one definitely belongs in the hall of fame... Bravo!'
    Audiophile Audition


Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

Handel’s Messiah has become one of the major icons in the musical life of the UK. Choral societies perform it to willing audiences at Christmas and Easter, the ’Hallelujah’ chorus is sung at football grounds to ribald new lyrics, and the roof of the Royal Albert Hall is periodically tested by the rising air from several thousand enthusiastic amateurs giving it their all in a ‘Messiah from Scratch’.


Bonus DVD
The bonus DVD features highlights from the performances in December 2006 and an interview with Sir Colin Davis.

Composer   Handel
Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   London Symphony Orchestra, Tenebrae
Soloists   Susan Gritton, Sara Mingardo, Mark Padmore, Alastair Miles

Track list
Handel: Messiah
1. Part I, No 1. Sinfonia
2. Part I, No 2. Comfort Ye My People
3. Part I, No 3. Ev'ry Valley Shall Be Exalted
4. Part I, No 4. And the Glory of the Lord
5. Part I, No 5. Thus Saith the Lord
6. Part I, No 6. But Who May Abide the Day of His Coming?
7. Part I, No 7. And He Shall Purify
8. Part I, No 8. Behold, a Virgin Shall Conceive
9. Part I, No 9. O Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion
10. Part I, No 9.a. O Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion (Chorus)
11. Part I, No 10. For, Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth
12. Part I, No 11. The People That Walked In Darkness
13. Part I, No 12. For Unto Us a Child Is Born
14. Part I, No 13. Pifa
15. Part I, Nos 14a-16. There Were Shepherds Abiding In the Field
16. Part I, No 17. Glory to God
17. Part I, No 18. Rejoice Greatly, O Daughter of Zion
18. Part I, No 19. Then Shall the Eyes of the Blind
19. Part I, No 20. He Shall Feed His Flock Like a Shepherd
20. Part I, No 21. His Yoke Is Easy
21. Part II, No 22. Behold the Lamb of God
22. Part II, No 23. He Was Despised
23. Part II, No 24. Surely He Hath Borne Our Griefs
24. Part II, No 25. And With His Stripes We Are Healed
25. Part II, No 26. All We Like Sheep Have Gone Astray
26. Part II, No 27. All They That See Him Laugh Him to Scorn
27. Part II, No 28. He Trusted In God
28. Part II, No 29. Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart
29. Part II, No 30. Behold, and See If There Be Any Sorrow
30. Part II, No 31. He Was Cut Off Out of the Land of the Living
31. Part II, No 32. But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul In Hell
32. Part II, No 33. Lift Up Your Heads, O Ye Gates
33. Part II, No 34. Unto Which of the Angels Said He At Any Time
34. Part II, No 35. Let All the Angels of God Worship Him
35. Part II, No 36. Thou Art Gone Up On High
36. Part II, No 37. The Lord Gave the Word
37. Part II, No 38. How Beautiful Are the Feet
38. Part II, No 39. Their Sound Is Gone Out
39. Part II, No 40. Why Do the Nations So Furiously Rage Together?
40. Part II, No 41. Let Us Break Their Bonds Asunder
41. Part II, No 42. He That Dwelleth In Heaven
42. Part II, No 43. Thou Shalt Break Them
43. Part II, No 44. Hallelujah
44. Part III, No 45. I Know That My Redeemer Liveth
45. Part III, No 46. Since By Man Came Death
46. Part III, No 47. Behold, I Tell You a Mystery
47. Part III, No 48. The Trumpet Shall Sound
48. Part III, No 49. Then Shall Be Brought to Pass
49. Part III, No 50. O Death, Where Is Thy Sting?
50. Part III, No 51. But Thanks Be to God
51. Part III, No 52. If God be for us
52. Part III, No 53a. Worthy is the Lamb that was slain
53. Part III, No 53b. Amen

Also available on