Beethoven: Fidelio

  • Catalogue Number LSO0593
    UPC 822231159322

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd
    sound engineers

    Recorded May 2006, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch
    Includes complete libretto with English translation
    Sung in German

  • Recordings of the Year
    Opera News

    Best of 2007 Classical CDs 'This thrilling performance was given in the Barbican last May when Sir Colin excelled himself in the power and nobility of his interpretation, with the LSO in terrific form, and the American soprano Christine Brewer sang with gleaming white-hot tone as Leonore. The final paean of joy at liberation is overwhelming. First-class recording quality.'
    The Sunday Telegraph

    Disc of the Month
    Opera Magazine

    CD of the Week '[Christine Brewer] is a glorious voice, lyrical yet capable of ascending thrillingly to climatic high Bs ... The other principals are excellent too ... Above all Davis's elemental conducting of his superb LSO makes this an outstanding bargain.'
    The Sunday Times

    'Colin Davis's conducting of the London Symphony Orchestra and the vocal forces is so impressive that it ranks with the greatest accounts I have ever heard of this work, or of almost anything ... Davis's interpretation is stupendous, weighty but moving forward with immense dramatic force, and with by far the greatest amount of orchestral detail that I have heard ... Christine Brewer is a great Fidelio, her big voice under perfect control, electrifying at climaxes.'
    BBC Music Magazine

    ***** 'Critical superlatives rained on the concert performances of Fidelio last May; this recording made at the time shows they were not exagerrated ... Fidelio is often let down by the Florestan but not in this case where Canadian tenor John Mac Master brings an almost Vickers-like intensity and lyricism. It is at moments like these that Beethoven’s opera is out on its own.'
    Sunday Telegraph

    'Smart people have long admired Christine Brewer for her power, clarity and good musical sense … this splendid soprano, who sings here with great beauty. Mr Mac Master removes the role – rescues it, some might say – from Wagnerian thickness. The sound is clear, with the svelteness of a Verdi tenor but steadfast under pressure … Mr Mac Master and Mr Davis ride the music gloriously.'
    New York Times

    'A stellar cast headed by that fine American soprano Christine Brewer … Canadian tenor John Mac Master's Florestan is every stave a match for Brewer's powerful, affecting Leonora, with the LSO chorus in especially fine voice as Davis mines the visionary depths of Beethoven's wondrous score.'
    The Observer

    'First class modern sound and cast to a standard I would of thought unachievable ... his [Davis’s] tempos are surprisingly fleet and there is an elemental energy to his conducting that propels the drama inexorably forward ... she [Brewer] sings the notes more effortlessly, and with thrilling attack at the top of her range, than any other contemporary Leonore ... Vocally, the big surprise is the sensitively and heroically sung Florestan of the Canadian tenor John Mac Master ... unmissable.'
    International Record Review

    '... Playing of real bite and character that is caught with startling presenceby the recording ... Christine Brewer's Leonore is quite exceptional ... Mac Master's performance is immensely impressive too.'
    The Guardian

    'Davis seems to view the work as an heroic love story instead of a grand pronouncement on freedom and oppression as so many others do. Hence the incredible lyricism of Davis’s account.The SACD sound here is exactly what we have come to expect from LSO Live - broadly spaced with good clarity and volume … this version sounds fresh and compelling and fully worthy to mount the steps to the temple of the few greats we have.'
    Audiophile Audition


Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

Based on a true incident which occurred during the French Revolution, Fidelio is Beethoven's only opera. Depicting the rescue of a political prisoner by his wife, who has disguised herself as a man, its themes of courage, marital loyalty and freedom make it one of the most uplifting and inspirational masterpieces of musical theatre.

Composer   Beethoven
Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   London Symphony Chorus,
London Symphony Orchestra

Christine Brewer, John Mac Master, Kristinn Sigmundsson, Sally Matthews, Juha Uusitalo, Andrew Kennedy, Daniel Borowski, Andrew Tortise, Darren Jeffery

Track list
Disc 1
1. Fidelio: Ouvertüre
2. Fidelio: Jetzt, Schätzchen
3. Fidelio: Der Arme Jaquino
4. Fidelio: O Wär' Ich Schon Mit Dir Vereint
5. Fidelio: Ist Fidelio Noch Nicht Zurück Gekommen?
6. Fidelio: Mir Ist So Wunderbar
7. Fidelio: Höre, Fidelio
8. Fidelio: Hat Man Nicht Auch Gold Beineben
9. Fidelio: Ihr Könnt Das Leicht Sagen
10. Fidelio: Gut, Söhnchen, Gut
11. Fidelio: Marsch
12. Fidelio: Drei Schildwachen Auf Den Wall
13. Fidelio: Ha! Welch’ Ein Augenblick!
14. Fidelio: Hauptmann
15. Fidelio: Jetzt, Alter, Jetzt Hat Es Eile!
16. Fidelio: Abscheulicher! Wo Eilst Du Hin?
17. Fidelio: Rocco, Ich Ersuchte Euch Schon
18. Fidelio: O Welche Lust!
19. Fidelio: Nun Sprecht, Wie Ging’s?
20. Fidelio: Leb Wohl, Du Warmes Sonnenlicht

Disc 2
1. Fidelio: Introduktion
2. Fidelio: Gott! Welch Dunkel Hier!
3. Fidelio: Wie Kalt Ist Es
4. Fidelio: Er Erwacht!
5. Fidelio: Euch Werde Lohn In Besser’n Welten
6. Fidelio: Alles Ist Bereit
7. Fidelio: Er Sterbe!
8. Fidelio: O, Meine Leonore
9. Fidelio: O Namenlose Freude!
10. Fidelio: Heil Sei Dem Tag
11. Fidelio: O Gott!
12. Fidelio: Wer Ein Holdes Weib Errungen

Also available on