--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini – LSO Live

Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini

  • Catalogue Number LSO0623
    UPC 822231162322

    James Mallinson producer
    Neil Hutchinson and Jonathan Stokes for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded June 2007, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes in English / en français / auf Deutsch
    Includes complete libretto with English translation
    Sung in French

  • Classic FM Magazine’s Best Recordings of 2008

    Opera News’ Recordings of the Year

    Gramophone Magazine’s Editor's Choice
    ‘Bravos all round!’

    The Sunday Times’ Classical CD of the Week
    ‘Conductor and tenor are the joint heroes of this exhilarating release ... Davis remains the supreme Berliozian of our day, brilliantly evoking the mercurial wit of the comic repartee ... anyone who doesn’t own this fabulous score should snap it up.’

    'Berlioz’s unconventional opera Benvenuto Cellini curiously mixes the heroic and the farcical. Still, the composer thought it one of his most original scores. Colin Davis is a renowned Berlioz interpreter, and this new recording, taken from live performances with the London Symphony, makes the strongest case for this fascinating work.'
    The New York Times

    ‘As with previous instalments of the LSO’s Berlioz cycle, this recording outshines Davis’s version of 40 years ago in sound quality and maturity of interpretation. Berlioz’s flamboyant portrait of the Renaissance goldsmith impresses with its sheer vigour and conviction, thanks to Davis’s inspiration of orchestra, chorus and a cast led by Gergory Kunde Laura Claycomb ... this is a bargain.’
    Financial Times

    ‘No conductor today excels Sir Colin Davis in Berlioz’s music and this performance of perhaps his most brilliant opera finds him in sparkling form. The American soprano Laura Claycomb is excellent in the coloratura role of Teresa, dominating the performance with her charm and vivaciousness.’
    Sunday Telegraph


Sir Colin Davis, London Symphony Orchestra

Berlioz’s flamboyant opera Benvenuto Cellini is inspired by the life of the legendary Florentine goldsmith and Renaissance figure. Its first performances in Paris during 1838-39 were disastrous as it proved too great a challenge for the musicians of the day. Yet even by Berlioz’s high standards it contains music of exceptional inventiveness and beauty.

Composer   Berlioz
Conductor   Sir Colin Davis
Performers   London Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Chorus
Soloists   Gregory Kunde, Laura Claycomb, Darren Jeffery, Peter Coleman-Wright, Andrew Kennedy, Isabelle Cals, Jacques Imbrailo, John Relyea, Andrew Foster-Williams, Alasdair Elliott

Track list
Disc 1
1. Benvenuto Cellini: Ouverture
2. Benvenuto Cellini: Teresa!
3. Benvenuto Cellini: Enfin Il Est Sorti
4. Benvenuto Cellini: Les Belles Fleurs!
5. Benvenuto Cellini: Quand J'aurai Votre Âge
6. Benvenuto Cellini: Cellini!
7. Benvenuto Cellini: Ah! Mourir, Chère Belle
8. Benvenuto Cellini: Ciel! Nous Sommes Perdus!
9. Benvenuto Cellini: A Nous, Voisines Et Servantes!
10. Benvenuto Cellini: Ah! Maître Drôle, Ah, Libertin!
11. Benvenuto Cellini: Une Heure Encore
12. Benvenuto Cellini: A Boire, À Boire
13. Benvenuto Cellini: Amis, Avant Qu'on Recommence
14. Benvenuto Cellini: Cette Somme T'est Due
15. Benvenuto Cellini: Oui, Oui Cette Somme Ètait Due
16. Benvenuto Cellini: C'est Trop Fort
17. Benvenuto Cellini: Ah! Aui Pourrait Me Résister?
18. Benvenuto Cellini: Finale - Le Carnaval
19. Benvenuto Cellini: Vous Voyez, J'espère
20. Benvenuto Cellini: Venez, Venez Peuple de Rome

Disc 2
1. Benvenuto Cellini: Entree D'arléquin
2. Benvenuto Cellini: Ariette de Pasquarello
3. Benvenuto Cellini: Il Plaît Fort
4. Benvenuto Cellini: Soyez Surpris
5. Benvenuto Cellini: Ah! Cher Canon Du Fort
6. Benvenuto Cellini: Entr'acte
7. Benvenuto Cellini: Ah, Qu'est-il Devenu
8. Benvenuto Cellini: Ma Dague en Main
9. Benvenuto Cellini: Ah! Je Te Trouve Enfin
10. Benvenuto Cellini: Le Pape Ici!
11. Benvenuto Cellini: Ah, Maintenant de Sa Folle Impudence
12. Benvenuto Cellini: Prelude
13. Benvenuto Cellini: Tra la la La
14. Benvenuto Cellini: Seul Pour Lutter
15. Benvenuto Cellini: Bien Heuruex Les Matelots
16. Benvenuto Cellini: Vite Au Travail, Sans Plus Attendre
17. Benvenuto Cellini: Peuple Ouvrier
18. Benvenuto Cellini: Ciel, C'est Fieramosca!
19. Benvenuto Cellini: Couvrez-moi Ce Drôle
20. Benvenuto Cellini: Teresa, Teresa, Ici
21. Benvenuto Cellini: Du Métal! Du Métal

Also available on