--- We are pleased to announce that worldwide downloads have been re-enabled. However, physical product shipments to EU countries remain on hold ---

Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé [Digital Download] – LSO Live

Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé [download]

  • Catalogue Number LSO0693
    UPC 822231169321

    James Mallinson producer
    Jonathan Stokes and Neil Hutchinson for Classic Sound Ltd balance engineers

    Recorded September - December 2009, Barbican, London

    DSD (Direct Stream Digital) recording
    Notes and synopsis in English / en français / auf Deutsch

  • Fono Forum’s Disc of the Month

    '[Daphnis and Chloe] is in the orchestra's blood. Valery Gergiev's combination of attention to detail and grasp of long-term architecture allied to a splendid surround sound recording make this a very enticing prospect. The strings sweep and swoon magnificently, the numerous woodwind solos are rarely less than sublime, while the brass manage both statuesque mobility in the panoramic vistas, and bracing punch in the general dances, ably supported by crackling percussion.'
    BBC Music Magazine

    'Gergiev generates a frisson in everything he conducts ... This Daphnis with the London Symphony Orchestra has everything one could want – atmosphere, languor, superb wind playing. Gergiev generates more high-voltage drama than rival versions.'
    Financial Times

    'Gergiev certainly adds to his laurels with a fantastic conducting job here - bringing out the colour and dynamics while highlighting every small detail. With his control of the orchestra he makes every bar a real event.'
    Audiophile Audition

    'The most striking thing about these fine performances is their seductive combination of tonal warmth and sparkling virtuoso finesse ... Gergiev conjures up an intoxicatingly languorous soundworld.'
    Classic FM Magazine

    ‘There is mystery and wonder in almost every bar ... This release is a triumph for Gergiev and the incomparable London Symphony. Bravo!’
    American Record Guide

    'Those like me who enjoyed this conductor's Romeo & Juliet will not be disappointed with this new recording ... the orchestral detail is impressive throughout ... highly recommended.'


Valery Gergiev, London Symphony Orchestra

Ravel's ballet Daphnis et Chloé is essentially an extended tone poem, suffused with luscious orchestral colours, portraying the passion of the two protagonists for each other. By contrast, Pavane pour une infante défunte harks back to the simplicity of the eighteenth-century music of Rameau, whilst Boléro is a fiery showpiece, highlighting the Spanish influences that pervade a number of Ravel’s works.

Composer   Ravel
Conductor   Valery Gergiev
Performers   London Symphony Chorus, London Symphony Orchestra

Track list
1. Daphnis et Chloé: I. Introduction et Danse Religieuse
2. Daphnis et Chloé: II. Les Jeunes Filles Attirent Daphnis
3. Daphnis et Chloé: III. Danse Grotesque de Dorcon
4. Daphnis et Chloé: IV. Danse Légère et Gracieuse de Daphnis
5. Daphnis et Chloé: V. Une Lumière Irréelle Enveloppe le Paysage
6. Daphnis et Chloé: VI. Daphnis Se Prosterne Suppliant - Voix, Très Lointaines
7. Daphnis et Chloé: VII. Danse Suppliante de Chloé
8. Daphnis et Chloé: VIII. Lever Du Jour
9. Daphnis et Chloé: IX. Chloé Réapparaît
10. Daphnis et Chloé: X. Animé - Danse Générale - Danse Finale (Bacchanale)
11. Pavane Pour Une Infante Défunte
12. Boléro

Also available on